election sec
District Election Officer [Collector], Returning Officers [RO] [Deputy Collectors/Revenue Divisional Officers/Corporation Commissioner], Assistant Returning Officers [ARO] [Tahsildars] & Electoral Registration Officers [ERO] [Revenue Divisional Officers] & Assistant EROs [Tahsildars] are notified by Election  Commission of India in consultation with the State Government.The regular revenue/ local body staff attend to the various activities pertaining to electoral administration. For special nature of work, temporary posts are sanctioned for a limited period.Section 13AA of the Representation of the People Act, 1950 provides for the appointment of a District Election Officer in each district who shall be an officer of Government. Normally the District collectors/District Magistrates have been designated as the District Election Officers of their districts.

Assembly Constituencies

Nagapattinam District has 6 Assembly constituencies namely,

  1. AC No.160 – Sirkali
  2. AC No.161 – Mayiladuthurai
  3. AC No.162 – Poombhuhar
  4. AC No.163 – Nagapattinam
  5. ACNo.164 – Kilvelur
  6. ACNo.165 -vedharanyam

Parliamentary Constituencies

Nagapattinam has 2 Parliamentary constituencies namely,

    1. Nagapattinam (PA code-29)
    2. Mayiladuthurai (PA code-28)

Mayiladuturai Constituency map